A Keepers Truth

Vista HBanner_Small_Longview

Title: A Keepers Truth

Author: Dee Willson

Genre: Literary Romance

Release Blitz: April 1st

AKT Teaser 2

Blurb

Every one of us has a soul.

Some are new, some old, and a few, the dangerous, are lost.

But only twelve know why we have a soul at all.

Only twelve remember mankind’s forbidden past.

Tess thinks she’s going crazy when only she sees the naked man in the crowded café, comatose woman in his arms. The nightmares, the visions: something’s not right. But Tess is entitled to moments of insanity. She’s the daughter of mental illness, suicide, and her husband was just killed in a car accident, leaving her an inept single mom at twenty-six.

Then Tess meets Bryce, Carlisle’s illusive bachelor who spins tales from ancient mythology with knowledge beyond his years. His truths intrigue Tess, pull her from the depths, and might just be what she needs to survive.

Compulsively readable, A Keeper’s Truth is an emotionally charged tale of fate, belief, and the power of the human mind. A story that will have you questioning everything you know about the history of mankind, and wondering if somewhere, deep inside, you knew the truth all along.

AKT Teaser 3

3f7dc-goodreads

BuyLinks

Amazon US: http://ow.ly/Zo4AV

AKT Teaser 1

AUTHOR INTERVIEW 

Q: Can you tell us a little about yourself to start?

Hmm…I leap tall buildings for chocolate. I hate being cold and wet, so I think I was a cat in another life. I’m a Twinkie; terribly mushy and insecure on the inside, solid and confident on the outside. Oh, and I once threw an entire frozen chicken at my husband when he suggested I have dinner ready on time. He now cooks.

Q: How are you feeling now that your latest book is out & on tour?

Elated. Nervous. A mess of emotions all wrapped into one. A Keeper’s Truth has been over 8 years in the making.

Q: How does your family feel about you being a published author?

I am blessed, I have an awesome network of friends and family who support me. I’m told by teachers that my youngest daughter (age 10) wears her Keeper’s t-shirt with pride. So cute.

Q: What inspires you to write?

Everything. I see inspiration in the smallest things: subtle smiles, whispered gestures, nature, politics, jealousy…the list goes on. What a fantastical world we live in. A Keeper`s Truth came from a dream that sparked a curiosity in ancient mythology and folklore. GOT (Gift of Travel) stemmed from – believe it or not – roadkill.

Q: Describe your book in 3 words?

Blow. Your. Mind.

Q: Out of all of your books do you have a favorite character or couple?

Books I’ve written, or books I own?

In books I’ve written, I’d have to say I have a soft spot for Bryce Waters in A Keeper’s Truth. It’s not just that he’s hot, mysterious, or smart, it’s because there is something deeply good about him, something that speaks to my humanity. Oh, and did I mention he’s hot?

In books I own, I have to admit, I adore the triangle between Bella, Edward, and Jacob in the Twilight series. One of my all-time favorite scenes has the three of them in a tent in a snowstorm, on the cusp of war, Edward and Jacob fighting over Bella. The tension is so real you can almost see it.

Q: Are you currently working on a new book at this time?

I’m working on two books: Meant 2 B, a tale about the nasty little bugger named fate, and the 2nd installment of A Keeper’s Truth. I’m not a prolific writer. For me, good books take time to marinate.

Q: Do you have a routine you follow when you write? (i.e. listen to music, sit in a certain chair or at a certain desk)

I can write anywhere there is relative quiet, but I need chunks of time. I takes a while to really get my head and heart working well with my hands (typing), so I need a good many hours lumped together to be really productive.

Q: How do your stories & characters develop?

Over time. I spend a lot of hours staring out the window, thinking. I am a planner. I have hundreds of pages worth of notes before I write word one of a manuscript.

Q: What was the first thing that came to your mind when your first book was published?

Fear. I’m in my element writing, in the heads of my characters. Handing them over to a publisher and exposing them to public scrutiny is scary. Part of me wants to hold them close, protect them, covet them. But deep down I know the characters deserve more than a glass bubble, so I set them free.

Q: Do you have favorite author whose books you love to read?

My favorite book of all time is The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. I also love The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I’m also a fan of Jamie McGuire.

Q: What is your favorite genre to read & write?

I’m a cross-genre lover. I actually find genre specific books to be somewhat formula oriented and predictable. That said, I love anything with a heavy relationship vein. There is something about a story that not only intrigues, but makes you feel it to your core, and I think that is done best through personal relationships.

Q: How do you go about creating the most “Swoonworthy” character?

Okay, so any man who gets to spend days, months, years, in my head, better be worthy of my time, right? He’s got to challenge me, make me cry, laugh, sweat. I have to fall in love with him, thoroughly.

Q: Can you share something with everyone that inspires you?

My kids inspire me. They are innocence and wonder, sponges of curiosity. Every day with them is a gift.

Q: If you could have dinner with anyone in the world who would it be & why?

Wow, what a question! The usual suspects come to mind, women I’m proud to walk beside: Oprah, Taylor Swift, Mother Teresa, Rosa Parks…. But if this was my last dinner, and I could only have one, I’d have to choose my mother. She came from nothing yet taught me amazing things. She has changed the world, one kid at a time.

Q: As a child what did you want to do when you grew up?

For years, I wanted to be a child psychologist, until I realized healthy kids don’t generally need a shrink, and I’d have to watch kids struggle with atrocities that would bring me to tears on a daily basis. I’m too soft. I’d want to take every last one home with me.

Q: Did you always want to be a writer? If not what did you want to be?

I wrote my first novel when I was 15, and have the Berkley Publishing rejection letter to go with it. Of course, I also thought I could defy gravity and walk on the ceiling in my socks, so what the hell did I know? LOL

Q: When did you first consider yourself a “writer”?

I wrote A Keeper’s Truth in a ten week whirlwind. Don’t be impressed, it took me over three years to edit. Writing, and writing well, are two very different things. When I knew I couldn’t give up, when I felt the unbelievable tug to make the story sing, I knew I was a writer.

Q: If you could go on a date with one of the male/female characters from a book who would it be (Character name, Book Title & Author’s Name) and what would you do on that date?

Hands down, Henry from The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. And I’m not telling you what we’d do on that date. Let’s just say I’d wear my ‘pretty’ underwear.

Q: Do you have a favorite playlist that you listen to when you write?

I actually prefer the quiet when I write. But Taylor Swift gets my juices pumping with girl-power and Sarah McLaughlin inspires me to spin words on a breeze.

Q: Do you read all the reviews for your book(s)?

Funny you ask. I was determined NOT to read reviews, as I didn’t want the opinions of others to taint my works-in-progress. But I’ve found myself drawn to the five star reviews for A Keeper’s Truth, giddy to know that others have experienced the same wonder reading it, that I had writing it.

Q: Which do you prefer paperback, hardback or ebooks & why?

I’m an old fashioned girl, I love to hold a book in my hand. I like the smell of the paper, the feel of the pages. I own a Kobo e-reader, but I have no idea where it is.

Q: What are you currently reading? Are you enjoying it? What format is it in (ebook, hardback or paperback) and who is the author?

I am currently reading Glass Sword, the second book in the Red Queen series by Victoria Aveyard. I bought these in hardcover, since they were on sale for the same price as the paperback. It’s a reasonable read, and I like the author’s writing voice and story structure.

Q: Of all of the books you have written do you have a favorite & why?

I don’t have a favorite, to be honest. I’ve written three books and there is a place in my heart for all of them. That said, A Keeper’s Truth with always be my ‘first born’, and the research into ancient civilizations and mythology makes me smile big.

Q: When you aren’t writing what do you do to relax and have fun?

I’m actually most content when I’m writing. Second to that is cuddling on the sofa with my kids, reading a good book. Add a glass of wine and chocolate and you’ve found my happy-place.

Thank you for the wonderful interview!

Hugs,

Dee Willson

Author of A Keeper’s Truth and GOT

www.deewillson.com

About The Author

14546547DEE WILLSON, felt the writer’s call at fifteen, when she penned her first novel and received her first rejection letter to go with it. Over twenty years later, with two successful businesses under her belt (both with Canada’s largest book retailer, Indigo Books), Dee Willson rekindled her passion for novels. She joined a hard-core book club, published short stories and interviews, contributed to blogs, and wrote the novel A Keeper’s Truth, followed by GOT (Gift of Travel). Dee is presently working on the second installment in the Keeper’s series, and Meant 2 B, a crazy ghost story riddled with fate.

Social Links: Amazon | Twitter | Facebook | Blog | Goodreads

Hosted By

SIPpronew

Leave a Reply

